BLUEBERRY AND POMEGRANATE TASTING

Blueberry and pomegranate wine tasting
Blueberry and pomegranate wine tasting – 18 months.

18 months ago I threw together some pomegranate juice and blueberries to make a wine. It was the first I had done that combined two fruits and also the first that use a juice rather than full fruit flesh in the recipe.

BLUEBERRY AND POMEGRANATE WINE RECIPE

BLUBEC – BLUEBERRY WINE RECIPE

SIMPLE BLUEBERRY WINE RECIPE

Blueberry and pomegranate wine
Blueberry and pomegranate wine in secondary.

The result is a fresh and zinging medium wine bodied but with a lot of mouth feel from the astringency of the pomegranate that slightly dominates the taste. The aroma is nice and fruity and the wine has kept a surprising amount of colour.

Blueberry wine is one of my favourite fruit wines and if I am honest, this is not as good as it lacks a depth of flavour that the pure blueberry has. The focus could easily be modified with more blueberries added – perhaps another 200g per gallon of wine. Next time I would probably use some actual pomegranates and squeeze them myself to add to the fresh taste.

That being said it is not a bad wine, easy to make and easier to drink – if I were to do this again I would use the same recipe but bottle carbonate for a light summery sparkling red wine to be drunk chilled.

 

Leave a comment